Erudite Lecture


Chemistry STARS Endowment Student Project Award 2018



The research center of Post Graduate Department of Chemistry, St. Teresa’s College (Autonomous) was inaugurated by Prof. V. N. Rajashekharan Pillai, former Vice Chancellor of IGNOU on 15/12/2018.

Prof. Pillai was the Director and Professor of School of Chemical Sciences, M. G. University. He was the former Vice Chancellor of M.G. University, Director- NAAC, Vice Chairman, UGC. In his keynote address Prof. Pillai has highlighted the need of research in colleges and discussed the project and research opportunities for PG students in Chemistry.

Around150 students and faculty members from St. Teresa’s College and nearby colleges attended the function. This was followed by an Erudite lecture by Prof. Prof. Toshiaki Enoki, Emeritus Professor, Tokyo Institute of Technology. The topic of the erudite lecture was “Molecular Science of Nano Graphene”.Prof. Enoki has been the pioneer in the field of nano graphene for quite some time and he explained the frontiers of graphene research ranging from important issues in condensed matter physics and chemistry to advanced device applications.

The lecture provided a platform for the students to meet an eminent personality from the field of material science and it also served as an eye-opener to research facilities in Japan which has really motivated students to pursue research outside India particularly in Asian counties.

The Manager of the College, Rev. Sr. Christabelle, CSST, Provisional & Manager, Director Rev. Dr. Sr. Celine E.CSST and Principal Dr. Sajimol Augustine M and faculty members from various departmentswere also attended the inauguration.Later in the afternoon a project presentation competition for M.Sc. students and research scholars were also conducted as a part of the inauguration.  “Teresian Book of Research In Chemistry” edited by Dr. Saritha Chandran A  was released in the function by Prof. V. N. Rajashekharan Pillai.

About 10 students from our college and nearby colleges participated in the completion. Dr. Rejimon P. K., Assistant Professor ,Department of Chemistry, Maharajas College, Ernakulam and Dr. Jaison M. J., Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Bharata Matha College were the judges for the competition. Liya Johnson and Lia Rolland won the first prize and Anakha George and Sharon Maria P. J. won the second prize. Both the teams are from Department of Chemistry, St. Teresa’s College. Cash prizes were awarded to the winners of project presentation competition.

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Share This Story,

Published On: November 26th, 2018Categories: Chemistry, Chemistry Department Activities